Rhyds Destiny wins All Ireland Final at Clonakilty

Rhyds Destiny joined the ranks of the elite in harness racing in West Cork as he captured the coveted All Ireland Harness Final at Clonakilty on Sunday, 31st of August 2014.

Seven runners lined up for the premier event on the calendar and Rhyds Destiny with Mike Kelleher in the bike set a blistering early pace on this mile and three furlong event. Best of The Fleet went in pursuit of the pace maker along with Ringo Star and Miraculous Return but this was a day that Rhyds Destiny met his "Destiny" and run out an easy eight length winner from Ringo Star who had won the stayers championship at the three day Tregaron festival in Wales last week. The winner is jointly owned by Leap based John Shanahan and Aiden Hayes and John Mycock a Derbyshire dairy farmer in the UK who is a regular visitor to the West Cork area and has in the past been associated with Fidlin another All Ireland winner. Winning driver Mike Kelleher drove two winners on the day having earlier coming off the pace in the final furlong to win on Meadowbranch Kiki who won his maiden at the same fixture last year.

IB Maximus is another to win in Wales last week followed up with a hard fought win in the Grade 1 & 2. This son of Kikicolt took to this testing track to hold off Rocokoko and The Hitman in a blanket finiosh to ensure driver Donal Murphy the 2014 ITHRF drivers championship.

Mr Security with owner "Red" John O Donovan in the bike notched up another win in his best season to date. Drawn in pole position this son of Cams Security led from the start and his five length winning margin may have been a lot more if required.

IB Mohican has found end of season form and denied 2014 ITHRF horse of the year Sunnyside Kildare his seventh local win. Seamus Quill was seen at his best to deny "Kildare" another win.

The talented but at times erratic Millers Boy broke his maiden in a fashion that suggests that 2015 may bring further honours for this son of Timon Del Sol who gave Brickley Racing yet another win in a season that saw the Baltimore based stables win their first Ballabuidhe Grand Prix.

By Tim Kelleher.

Return to Previous News Articles